MIT re-appointed to the EU VAT Expert Group

The Malta Institute of Taxation has been re-appointed to the EU VAT Expert Group for another 3-year term, commencing 1 October 2019.

The VAT Expert Group assists and advises the European Commission on VAT matters, in particular, on the development and implementation of VAT policies. It is composed of individuals in their personal capacity with the requisite expertise in VAT, as well as organisations which represent tax practitioners and certain businesses.

The Institute is represented on the VAT Expert Group by Sarah Cassar Torregiani, Chief Technical Officer of the Institute, and by Chris Borg, Chairperson of the Institute’s Indirect Tax Technical Committee, as alternate.

The MIT has been a member of the VAT Expert Group since 2014.